Who am I?

My name is Rory Heath, and I’ve just completed my second year studying medicine at King’s College London. I’ve had a history as an athlete, playing rugby for Hertfordshire and the Harlequins Rugby League Scholarship. Nowadays my life is focused towards my studies at medical school however I still exercise regularly and set high targets for where I want my fitness to be.

I’ve always had a fascination for how the body works. It’s one of the reasons I decided to study  medicine – I really enjoy understanding the intricacies of our physiology, and the functional anatomy of our outer hardware – muscles, bones, fascia and ligaments.

Medicine is a great degree. It teaches you more than just ‘to become a Doctor’. It teaches skills of communication, learning and problem solving, and can develop attractive character traits. If you’re a prospective medical student and want to know more, feel free to shoot me an email. After all, ‘doctor’ is derived from the Latin, ‘to teach’, and Medieval Latin ‘advisor, scholar’.

My second year of Medicine has been a great one. I’ve learned to study hard and balance my social and exercise lives, and earned new friends and tasted exam success. This year, I have developed my interest in Sports and Exercise Medicine (SEM) and am enthusiastic about the pursuit of relevant experience, information and a possible career.

So, this blog is to introduce myself to the blogosphere, to the world of medicine, and to open up future paths for me to take.

I’ll use it to document what I’ve been doing and my interests, the struggles and successes of medical school and extra curricular events I attend. It will be an opportunity for me to reflect and learn from my experiences.

If you’re reading this, you’re probably viewing the early beginnings of my writing. Heck, you’re viewing the beginnings of my future. I’d love to receive feedback on my writing style, suggestions for posts and opportunities for experiences. Please contact me through the form on my ‘About’ page, or just stick something in the comments below.

Post 1 = Done!

Leave a Reply

